Photobucket


The Diary
then - now - next
archives


email me
Me at Here


all about me
profile


notes

host

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Ready, Aim, Fire!
2006-12-07, 11:59 a.m.

WOHOO - It's here!!!

We've gotten our first real snow. I mean, flakes have flown before this, but this is the first that has stuck!!

Everything is white and sparkly, and it's not too cold.

It's great packing snow too! Babybear and I had our first "snow fight" last night. The snow packed perfectly for perfect snow balls. You know the kind - not the ones that fall apart as soon as it leaves your hand, and not the kind that is so well packed together that it's like a rock when it collides with one's head. It's the kind that shape easily and perfectly, hold their shape, and travel with the ideal velocity towards your target. Then, upon impact, they make that perfect "schmuck" sound, and fall apart, but leave a little white powder marking their spot, so the target cannot fallaciously claim "na na na boo boo, you didn't get me!�

I got 3 great hits on Babybear, caught him right at the edge of his hat and his cheek, so it didn't get him in the face at all, but was close enough that he knew he could not win. So he employed the best strategy he could think of - he kept his back to me and just tossed as much snow over his shoulder in my general direction as he could. Then he took cover on the passenger side of the car. My attacks rained down on him over the roof, and caught him completely off guard. He's such a rookie. By the end of this season though, he'll be a lean, mean snow ball throwing machine.

One thing that really irks me is that as I write this, I get thinking "hmmm, should I post this? Is some Super-Mom going to read this post and criticize my parenting and call me out on teaching my child to have snow ball fights, and engaging in *violent* and *aggressive* acts?" I hate second guessing what I do with my son. Babybear knows there is a time and a place for such things. He wouldn't do it at school. And he would only do it with certain kids at daycare. He's a smart young lad.

I also had a moment of realization yesterday. I already knew it, but I didn't *know* it. I had that *click* moment realizing how everything is going to change. For so long it was just Babybear and I. The addition of Hubby hasn't changed too much between us, but the addition of Baby is going to change everything. I looked back at pictures of Babybear and I, just the two of us, doing our thing. I am going to miss that so much. Don't get me wrong, I know it'll be all good with Baby, but the nostalgia hit me, and in my hyper emotional state it makes me sad/happy/sad...

He's growing up on me. *pout*

last - next