Photobucket


The Diary
then - now - next
archives


email me
Me at Here


all about me
profile


notes

host

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Liberation 60th Anniversary
2005-01-27, 10:50 p.m.

Liberation�

Today - January 27, 2005 � marks the 60th anniversary of the Liberation of Auschwitz-Birkenau.

It saddens me that the Veterans of the wars, and the survivors of places like Auschwitz-Birkenau, Treblinka, Belzec, etc, are getting so far on in years. Some things should not ever be forgotten, and while the Holocaust is often referred to as �the darkest chapter in human history�, we need to remember what happened then. It frightens me to think of memories of memories being passed down. I know of what happened, and while my sheltered Canadian self cannot ever truly comprehend some things, I know I should never forget it, never accept it, and never be ignorant of it (or of the other crimes being committed even now as I write this � Sudan). It makes me crazy that my 17 yr old sibling watched a documentary on Auschwitz, and had no idea what the Holocaust was, when/why/how/who. Had no idea what �Auschwitz� was. That kind of ignorance at that age is frightening. And that is when we still have survivors here to remind us, to speak about those who have been lost, to give voice to the many, many ghosts.

What will happen in 15 years, or 20 years�.when only ghosts remain?


last - next