Photobucket


The Diary
then - now - next
archives


email me
Me at Here


all about me
profile


notes

host

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Of Leafs and Sens
2007-01-19, 3:42 p.m.

I read a comment someone left in another diary (I am not going to link because it's locked) and inspired me to share the following rant:

Living in the grand province of Ontario can be tricky if you're a hockey fan. See, Gopheroo and Babybear, well, we're blue all the way - that's right, we're Leaf fans. I know. I know, I know, I know it, so you don't have to say it. I know they will choke, but I am okay with that - they're my team, and it's all good. Enter Hubby. Hubby is an Ottawa Senator's fan (shudder). It has reached a point that we cannot even watch a Leaf/Sens game in the house together. Mostly cause I am concerned about Babybear. He'll have to deal with succumbing to enough peer pressure later in life, I hate watching him be conflicted because he wants to cheer for his team, but he wants his Dad's approval, and wants to bond, and thus tries to root for the Sens - it's tough to watch, and he wears his little emotions so clearly. Hubby, while usually diplomatic to a fault, and usually so sensitive it actually makes me crazy, is NOT sensitive to this particular issue. In fact, a few weeks ago they went to a Raptors game. The Raptors share the ACC with the Leaf�s, and Babybear saw some Leaf paraphernalia, really wanted something, and asked Dad so nicely to let him use the money Mom had given him to by said Leaf product. This request ended with a tearful Babybear coming through the door relaying to me he was sad because Dad wouldn�t let him buy what he wanted because �Dad hates the Leafs.�

Of course a discussion between Mom & Dad ensues. I do not believe in spoiling my child. In fact, for 5 years, he�s a very ambitious little tyke. He does his normal chores � the things expected of him, like making his bed, feeding his dog, picking up his belongings, putting his dishes in the dishwasher, etc. He also takes on other chores � like shoveling the drive, sweeping the floors, vacuuming the house, and doing the big dishes (pots and pans, etc), helping with laundry, etc. When he does this, he earns a little money, not a ton, usually a looney or a twoonie. Babybear currently has more then $40 is his Pig (piggy bank), and he has in excess of $250 in his own bank account (this is just his, not the stuff I bank for him for school, etc, strictly his own money, he has earned in someway or another). I have to say when a 5 year old has managed to save that much on his own, he deserve to purchase the one damn Leaf item he wanted on that day. It wasn�t just deserved � he had earned it as a right, in my opinion. Hubby says they were there for Raptors, not Leafs, so he shouldn�t be buying Leaf stuff anyways.

O_o

Okay � my husband works in sports radio in Toronto � he is a sports nut. ANYONE who lives near this area KNOWS that to get a set of Leaf tix, you need to do something like sell your first born, an appendage, and BOTH your kidneys. I reminded him the chances of Babybear getting to see a Leaf game at the ACC were rather slim, since we can�t justify the $400 required for a pair of nosebleed tix, and thus he should be allowed to buy it at the ACC when there. In the end Hubby conceded it was wrong to not allow Babybear to purchase the item just because of the damn logo on it. Not to mention last Christmas Babybear bought Dad a really nice Senators shirt�all his own idea too!

ANYWAYS � you get a feel for how it is round our house. So, last Christmas, I gave Hubby a pair of Sens at Buffalo tix. He was sweet enough to ask that I accompany him. While I am not a Sens fan, I can respect his team, and he was so insistent that I agreed to go. The night started off well. Since we left a little late the game had begun by the time we arrived. We walked through the rink, get to our gates, and we go to our seats. I had gotten him great seats � 9 rows back from the ice! The crowd was really rowdy and we hard a hard time walking down the steps. We get to our row, and its filled most with rowdy weenies. Two older gentlemen are sitting in seats one and two of our row, they get up and try to get some room made for us to get into our seats. The one kind older gentleman turns and says to us (but mostly to me, because while walking Hubby�s eyes are glued to the game) �Sorry, we�re trying to get you through, just give us a minute. It�s all these damn Senator fans � they come down here and make a ruckus and�� And at the very moment the Sens score the first goal of the evening and all the Sens fans, my husband included, scream and hoot and holler and make general asses of themselves (which seems to be their thing). My cheeks turn pink, and I flash my nicest and most sincere �I am so sorry� smile to the older gentleman�but by this time his eyes have narrowed, he has seen us for the devils we are. He rolls his eyes and shakes his head to himself as he lets us pass, Hubby still acting like an ass while reveling in his team�s small victory.

At least that night it didn�t get as bad as what I�ve seen at the ACC between the Leafs and Sens. You see, typically, every time the Leafs and Sens meet in regular season, the Sens HAND. US. OUR. ASSES. It�s embarrassing. It�s humiliating. But happens almost without fail. HOWEVER, just as inevitably, the Leafs and Sens meet each other in the playoffs, and engage in the Battle of Ontario. And the Leafs put the Sens out. Then the Leafs get knocked out themselves�but they always put the Sens out first. It�s so funny. While, during the playoffs Battle of Ontario in 2002, I go to some of the playoff games with Season Ticket Holder. It was a rough series, but the Leafs pulled through. Then animosity was unbelievable. The tension between these teams blows me away. You got guys parading around outside in a roman legionnaire costume complete with plastic sword and shield, calling on every blue and white painted person in line. It�s just bizarre.

And I cannot believe I have written two pages about hockey. Ugh.

Just finished reading a creepy novel � it was a good book, but I am glad it�s over. Now I can sleep again. It was creepy enough that I had to put it away on the shelf spine facing in so I couldn�t see it from my bed. It�s not often I find one that creepy. I read one two years that really got me. It�s called �The Dwelling�. Scared the crap out of me. Still two years later, I can totally freak myself out just thinking about it.

Why am I attracted to those kinds of books? And movies. I always want to go see the scary movie, and I do. Then I just want to crawl under a rock a pretend it all never happened. And I know that too. WHY do I keep doing it?!?! What is the damn allure of a book that had me so freaked out that when a weird nosed sounded on the roof of my office I screamed and ran out? Wouldn�t have been so bad if I hadn�t been on the phone with someone at the time�but still, I search for them, I try to find the ones that will creep me out the most, and then I terrify myself stupid. What is it that makes me do that?!?

Speaking of which I think I will go�I have a new spooky book to start ;)

last - next