Photobucket


The Diary
then - now - next
archives


email me
Me at Here


all about me
profile


notes

host

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

A Backyard Beach Bash
2007-06-07, 11:36 p.m.

Babybear is 6 this weekend, and we're planning a Backyard Beach Bash to celebrate.

Anyone got any ideas on good beach type games to play with 5 and 6 year olds? I'm normally quite good at this stuff, and we've pulled together the following:

-Invites were sandcastle cutouts, which we made from sand paper.
-Food includes goldfish crackers, veggies and dip, fresh fruit, and a jello bowl. The jello bowl is made of blue jello, and we have suspended gummie fish and sharks in it, so it looks like the ocean - it's pretty cool.
-Crafts include the decorating of their own treasure chests with stickers, glitter glue, paint, etc. They will use these later when they do a treasure hunt, during which they will find the treasure boxed shaped pinata, and then they will fill the treasure boxes with the goodies they get from the pinata.

I have beach balls for each kids (rom the dollar store). Need to come up with some sort of funny game where they all get soaked. I have water balloons, and thought of putting them in teams where they toss the balloons back and forth, and when the balloons burst, they sit down - last team standing wins a prize (beach set from dollar store).

The cake I am making is awesome = total beach scene complete with palms, etc. I'll upload pics after then day.

Last year (5th birthday) we had a Safari Party, which was easy...we hid stuffed animals of all sorts around the yard, and the invitations were record books they had to bring to the party with them. We went on a "safari" around the yard, learned about the animals we saw, and the kids draw pictures of them in their record books to take home. It was cool. Before that (4th birthday) we had a Pirate Party - using some of those ideas for this party (treasure chests, etc). Here's the cake I did for that one:



And then for his 3rd birthday, we had a Dinosaur Party. Here's that cake:

I enjoy baking and decorating cakes...can you tell? I'll have to post a few others sometime. I've done a few wedding cakes, and they've gotten better as I've been doing it longer.

The best part, now I'm not working, I actually have *time* to bake. I am enjoying this domesticated stuff :)

Anyways, any beach/water game ideas would be greatly appreciated!


last - next