Photobucket


The Diary
then - now - next
archives


email me
Me at Here


all about me
profile


notes

host

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Wingbat
2004-09-07, 10:40 p.m.

Gosh going back to work is just yucky.

Especially this week. This is my last week working in the office (as of next week I begin working from home), and I am stuck in the office with a woman who is strung higher than a flag pole. Normally we have others in the office to interject, but this week, between holidays and weddings and such, it's just me and her.

I have no idea how I am going to cope. On the bright side, her boss is back in the office tomorrow, so he'll keep her relatively busy and off my back...but at the same time, he makes her mental. She gets even more wingy then she already was, and that is a feat for a woman who is regularily soaring, ok?

And work. I love my new position. But it terrifies me. It's soooooo awesome, and I am so afraid I am going to do something to screw it up. It's ok....6 more days, and I back to traveling again. I'm good at that ;)

Going to miss Babybear a lot this month. He is going to come with me next week. We're going to Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island (we just got back from our holidays there, YAY, get to see Grandad again!!), and New Brunswick. I love spending time down east. Especially PEI. Islander's are great. My favorite activity is the Hippo. Even Babybear at 3 knows what the Hippo is, can spot it from a distance, and always asks to go on it. They took one of those Amphibian things from the US military, and you go on a tour of Charlottetown, PE on land, driving down the streets, etc, then it takes you right out into the Harbour. It's too cool. All the locals wave to you as you go by in this great big huge pinky red boat-car thing. It's too funny.

But the rest of the month I have to travel without him. I head out west for 4 days (British Columbia and Alberta) and then I get to head down south!! I'm going to Georgia and Tennessee. And possibly another state. Not sure yet though.

I'm excited about getting to see new places, but sad to not see Babybear as much. But it's all good. We just do this for a year or so, and I'll be primed to move up again. That'll be a nice move, both financially as well as mentally. Funny, I never saw myself as a 'move up the ladder' kinda girl. Certainly never aspired to suceed in the business world. And yet here I am. And I harbour so many insecurities about my abilities and qualifications. But then I overheard Wingbat (see above) having a fit because I was leaving the office and she started running about to see who was going to cover my current responsibilities. WOW. I have/had a LOT of responsibilities. I was thinking, geez, I really don't do much. Then I hear her on the phone running through her list of "things Tabi does" to see how will assume responsibility for each segment.....and wow, it was quite a list. I'm still a little shocked. I really did accomplish a lot. Even if I think I didn't.

It was a bit of an ego boost. At the same time, it somewhat irriatating to watch someone get you replaced before you are even out the door. It hurt to be replaced. But someone once told me to suceed at work, never be irrplaceable. If you cannot be replaced, then you cannot be promoted. And here I go, up and up and up.

I have to go to bed, but I'll have a doosy of an entry tomorrow. Gotta lotsa stuff flying around my beeno and I need to get some of it out.

*smooches*

last - next