Photobucket


The Diary
then - now - next
archives


email me
Me at Here


all about me
profile


notes

host

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

IT Hell
2007-01-27, 12:35 a.m.




Your Slanguage Profile



Canadian Slang: 75%



British Slang: 25%



New England Slang: 25%



Southern Slang: 25%



Aussie Slang: 0%



Prison Slang: 0%

Wouldn't it be embarrassing if my Canadian slang were 0%? Come to think of it, one of my American friends once gave me a book about Canadian slang, titled "Canadian Sayings" (Bill Casselman). Things like "It's so flat in Saskatchewan you can watch your dog run away from home for a week", or "Far as ever a puffin flew". Some of the cracks were really funny. And said AMerican friend got a laugh listening to me speak. I would tell her ABOUT something, and she'd start howling because I said "A boot". So annoying. *Sigh* I miss her. She's on MySp@ce - I should go look her up.

Spent 90% of today in IT hell. Recent made ther switch to IP phones at the office, also decided to change our internet provider to one that doesn't block port 25, thus allowing us to send email like a normal business. We have folk in other countries who log into our server via remote desktop, and as such we need a static IP.

The day begins with phone failure. internet still works, cause old provider was cable, and phones are DSL. But then cable goes out. SO we have *nothing*. No phones. No internet. No email. ACK!

I decide to switch providers at this point - can't be worse then having no emails - and I won't interupt anyone's work, since they are already disconnected. This switch to our new provider (also DSL) should NOT have been difficult. Modem was set up, it was a matter of resetting the router with the new static IP, chaning everyone's SMTP settings, and moving forward.

Ha. Ha Ha. All I was doing was changing the EXTERNAL IP. This should have NO EFFECT on the local network. None. Each work station is set to have an IP assigned to it, the router working as a DHCP server. Huge issues. We get internet and email working (well, I might add), but we lose connectivity to a few of the programs on our server (such as our database, quickbooks, etc). Plus it takes an EON to log into the domain. I mean, you could login, go out for a coffee, come back, and your personal settings are still loading.

If I go into network settings, and I force an IP, I can get connectivity to said prgrams, but lose internet and email. Obtain ip automatically, have internet and email, lose database and quickbooks.

THIS MAKES NO SENSE!!! All we changed is the EXTERNAL IP!!! THe servers are maintained on their own static ip, nothing changed on the internal network.

It's clearly a DNS issue - if you try to ping the domain controller from the work station whiththe automatic ip - takes forever. Force an ip, ping the domain controller, pops right up.

The person who originally set up this domain is a dumb ass, and they never set up a DNS server. I am sure this is where the issue begins. Just so damn frustating. Spent 6 hours working on this - 3 hours with a tech assisting. We left at 7pm, agreeing to meet again Monday morning to move forward.

Bet you had no idea I was that kind of a tech geek, eh? My title at work should read as: Gopheroo: Markeing Manager, IT Manager, Web Designer, Graphics Designer, CRM Manager, and Travel Agent Extraordinaire!!

I wish I could win the lottery, and just....be at home for a while. I need to get away from this company!!

On the personal side - Babybear is doing much better - back to his cheerful self. He even got me to participate in karate last night for the first time in months. It felt so good - I felt cleansed, and WOW did I ever sleep good (for the first time in months - my ability to sleep is directly related to my physical activity level). And wow - do I ever hurt today (like I haven't in months and months). Funny thing - can't cheat on my push ups - belly hits the ground, gotta keep myself up!! Sit ups were a trick! It was great, and I am glad he encouraged me to get back out there. Look forward to our next class on Monday.

Hubby is feeling much better as well. He has to commute about an hour to work, and a nasty storm has hit - he's left me a message saying he's going to crash at a friends house (aroundt he corner from his office) tonight. Know what that means?!?! Babybear and I have the king bed all to ourselves AGAIN!!!! I love sleeping on that island :)

last - next