Photobucket


The Diary
then - now - next
archives


email me
Me at Here


all about me
profile


notes

host

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Canadian Crack
2007-04-02, 2:14 p.m.

Yesterday was our local Maple Syrup festival. Otherwise known as �Canadian Crack Day� in my household. Babybear and I are hopeless addicted to all things sweet and syrupy, especially when they are maple. It�s like crack � we cannot get enough!

You head out the conservation area � they serve you pancakes with sausage and coffee/tea/juice, and you enjoy it outdoors with fresh syrup that came from the tree you�re sitting next to.

They have wagon rides, face painting, games, live music, and tours through the sugar bush. You learn how to distinguish different trees, learn how natives made syrup, how pioneers made syrup, and how it�s made today. They show the kids how to tap a tree, how to know how many taps you can place in a tree, etc. Babybear loves it � he gets right in there every year, and puts the spout in the tree, demonstrates how to use a yoke, etc. He was really into this year.

Finally, you walk into the shack where the make the syrup using a modern evaporator. You get to learn about the different grades of syrup, how to make sugar verses syrup, etc. Then they give you a fresh sample, made on site that morning, and after that, they pour a thicker syrup over snow, and you twirl it on a popsicle stick, and it makes taffy � yummy.

Babybear and I love having pancakes in the woods. We love the syrup � the whole is a great event for us, and we very much look forward to it each year. I�ve been attending since I was in grade 1, and went with my school. Babybear has gone a few times now, cause it�s just a fun day, and all the proceeds from admission, etc go to a local charity.

This was Hubby�s first time. He *cannot* handle sugar. He got a little sugar rush happening, then crashed � it was so funny.

Babybear and I, on the other hand, purchased nearly $40 in maple products (syrup and sugar) � this has to last us a little while�the sugar candies aren�t readily available for normal consumption the rest of the year. We have to go to a gift shop, and pay outlandish prices for sugar candies that are packages for tourists.

I don�t know what I will do if I ever become diabetic�

Afterwards, we went to the video game shop, and the syrup goodness skewed my judgment and I purchased a new video game. I sat and played it for more then 6 hours yesterday � barely managed to feed my family dinner (managed to burn/overcook the ham, potatoes, asparagus and carrots � everything!), and I turned into the nasty �GameZilla�. Didn�t even let Babybear have a turn.

And all I think about is how I can�t wait until Thursday � no work Friday means I can stay up all night Thursday night and play the game. *Hangs head in shame*

I also need to hit a video store near me � I�m still so very taken with the charming Daniel Craig � I need to sate my appetite!! Hubby is working outlandish hours this week � leaves me all to my lonesome, so I think I�ll arrange a date for myself and Mr. Craig via my DVD player!

last - next