Photobucket


The Diary
then - now - next
archives


email me
Me at Here


all about me
profile


notes

host

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com

Happy Valentine's Day
2007-02-14, 10:17 a.m.

Happy Valentine's Day!

If you've got a special someone - hope you enjoy the lovefest day.

If you�re on you are your own special someone - love yourself today! You deserve it!!

Really - I swear Valentine's Day is the source of more disagreements between lovers then any other holiday. I am listening to the woman around the office - one woman pouts that she's not getting flowers this year - cause she and her husband just bought a brand new fireplace...another pouts that she's not getting flowers either - because her hubby is picking her up and taking her out for a really nice lunch today (best time to have a meal sans children for them).

Seriously - your men are doing something special for you...and yet there's pouting over no flowers?!?

And who wants the damn flowers today anyways?!?! I *refuse* to pay, or have my amour pay a florist some $50 for a bunch of roses. Firstly, *my* favorite flower is a lily, my second an orchid. You can get a beautiful orchid PLANT for $20...and it'll last...for years! I prefer tulips to roses, and they cost $9.99/dz. $50 on flowers....what a waste!! We could have a great night at the movies for that! Or a nice dinner together!

I do like the chocolate though. Valentine's is good for that. Yummy. Any day is a good holiday for chocolate, methinks.

Babybear keeps teasing me about kissing frogs and turning them into princes, so along with his V-day booty, I got him a small stuff frog with a lopsided crown on it's head. Hope it makes him chuckle.

Babybear is mad at me today. He�s been mad at me for 14 hours now. We were watching "House" last night, and a girl had a fever of 105f and went into feberal convulsions. Babybear wondered what that was, so I explained to him when you have a really high fever, it can damage the nerves in the brain, etc. I then explained to him when he was a little over a year old, we had a night where he had a fever of 104.7, and he started twitching, and his eyes were rolling back in his head � scary business, so off to the ER we went. I then told him and Hubby that because his fever was so high, they needed to ensure he was making urine, and they taped a bag to his �weenie� (rare term in our house � he�s been brought up using proper terms for proper parts, not things like �weenie�, �bird�, �pecker�, �privates� or any of the other funny variants he�s picked up since school began).

I shouldn�t have shared that part of the story. He is very angry about having a bag on his �weenie�. And more so, he is very angry with me for talking about his �weenie�. One of those moments where I watched a part of his innocence slip away, as he becomes aware of himself and his body, and now feels shame. No more brazen stripping and running about naked. Too bad, really, he was quite adept. The boy was able to remove his gitch and toss them over the neighbor�s fence in the blink of an eye. Now he has a fit if his bedroom curtains are opening while he�s getting dressed. Funny, because the window is located approximate four feet up the wall�and he�s only about four feet tall�thus allowing the neighbors to ogle the top of his head�

He�s going to be even angrier with me, as Hubby and I are going out tonight, sans Babybear. For a romantic candlelit dinner, celebrating their first Valentine�s as a married couple, you may be wondering. Nope. We�re off to have an intimate evening with our marriage counselor. Nothing says �I love you!� like a trip to the therapist! We had our first session last week, and we both really like this guy. And if we don�t get some outside help, we�re gonna kill each other, because we both have too much pride and ego to ever get divorced. Just kidding! Kinda.

Seriously, though, we love each other very much, but we have totally different communication styles, and while it�s an annoyance now, if we let this fester or grow we will have a terrible issue in five or ten years. I�d rather work on it now before it becomes a huge problem. I think it far better to build a small bridge then to wait and have to try and dismantle an atomic bomb.

Anyways, we both really like this counselor, so hopefully he can point us in the right direction, and give us some tools to move forward. And what a better gift to give one another on V-day then the gift of a healthy marriage, right?

Off to the obstetrician today � get to hear Possum again. Hubby and Babybear are both coming too. I love listening to the heartbeat. We have our ultrasound appointment on Monday, and I cannot wait! Little pictures of little baby! Hubby thinks he felt Possum move last night, it was so funny, he was totally blown away. And I think it was all in his head, I am pretty sure Possum didn�t move, and he imagined it. It will be hilarious when Possum really does move for him. And I can�t wait until Possum gets Babybear. Babybear is so sweet, he hugs my belly, and kisses it, says hi to Possum all the time, tells Possum he loves her (he is sure he�s having a sister), and chats away. He is going to be a great big brother.

I think I will go make myself a ceasar salad � Possum�s hungry!

last - next